Login

Du hast noch keinen Account? Registriere dich.
Hast du dein Passwort vergessen

Account erstellen

Durch die Registrierung, akzeptierst du unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Melde dich an wenn du schon einen Account besitzt.

Passwort zurücksetzen

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Mel Ramos
The definitive catalogue raisonné of original prints

Ramos Cover

„Mel Ramos. The definitive catalogue raisonné of original prints“ ist ein definitives Werkverzeichnis, eine vollständige Dokumentation aller gedruckten Arbeiten auf Papier reproduziert in Farbe. Die Publikation ist reich illustriert und enthält zwei Essays der Kunsthistorikerinnen und Kuratorinnen Claire Breukel und Jeanette Zwingenberger, die Ramos lebenslange künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit dem weiblichen Akt analysieren.

35,00 €

  • HERAUSGEBER

    Galerie Ernst Hilger

  • VORWORT

    Ernst Hilger

  • TEXTE

    Claire Breukel, Jeanette Zwingenberger

  • DESIGN

    Fuhrer, Wien

  • SPRACHE

    Englisch

  • DETAILS

    Paperback, 30 x 23 cm, 250 Seiten, 193 Abb. in Farbe

  • ISBN

    978-3-903320-22-2

Über dieses Produkt

„Mel Ramos. The definitive catalogue raisonné of original prints“ ist ein definitives Werkverzeichnis, eine vollständige Dokumentation aller gedruckten Arbeiten auf Papier reproduziert in Farbe. Die Publikation ist reich illustriert und enthält zwei Essays der Kunsthistorikerinnen und Kuratorinnen Claire Breukel und Jeanette Zwingenberger, die Ramos lebenslange künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit dem weiblichen Akt analysieren.

Der Katalog ist eine unschätzbare Ressource für Forscher, Sammler und Liebhaber.
Ramos hat schon sehr früh in seiner künstlerischen Laufbahn Druckeditionen in sein Schaffen einbezogen. Während die frühesten noch in einer abstrakten expressionistischen Art und Weise waren, begann der Künstler sich wirklich mit dem Medium zu beschäftigen, als er Mitte der 1960er Jahre begann, in seinem charakteristischen Pop-Art-Stil zu arbeiten. Vor dem Hintergrund der kulturellen Revolution der späten 1950er und frühen 1960er Jahre reflektierten diese Künstler die Welt um sie herum und fanden Inspiration im Alltag, in Konsumgütern und in den aufstrebenden Massenmedien. Insbesondere letzteres führte zu Versuchen mit kommerziellen Druckverfahren wie dem Siebdruck. Kunst sollte aus den Grenzen von Eliteinstitutionen gebracht und leicht zugänglich gemacht werden. Es wurden Fragen zu den Eigenschaften eines Kunstwerks gestellt: Originalität, Einzigartigkeit und Authentizität befragt.

Login

Don't have an account? Sign up.
Lost your password

Create Account

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Conditions.

Login if you already have an account.

Reset Password

Mel Ramos
The definitive catalogue raisonné of original prints

Ramos Cover

“Mel Ramos. The definitive catalogue raisonné of original prints” is a complete documentation of all printed works on paper reproduced in color. Richly illustrated, the publication includes two essays by art historians and curators Claire Breukel and Jeanette Zwingenberger, who analyze Ramos’ lifelong artistic engagement with the female nude. The catalog is an invaluable resource for researchers, collectors, and aficionados alike. 

€35.00

  • EDITOR

    Galerie Ernst Hilger

  • PREFACE

    Ernst Hilger

  • TEXTS

    Claire Breukel, Jeanette Zwingenberger

  • DESIGN

    Fuhrer, Vienna

  • LANGUAGE

    English

  • DETAILS

    paperback, 30 x 23 cm, 250 pages, 193 ills. in color

  • ISBN

    978-3-903320-22-2

About the product

“Mel Ramos. The definitive catalogue raisonné of original prints” is a complete documentation of all printed works on paper reproduced in color. Richly illustrated, the publication includes two essays by art historians and curators Claire Breukel and Jeanette Zwingenberger, who analyze Ramos’ lifelong artistic engagement with the female nude. The catalog is an invaluable resource for researchers, collectors, and aficionados alike. 

From a very early stage in his artistic career, Ramos has incorporated printed editions into his oeuvre. While the earliest of these were still in an Abstract Expressionistic manner, the artist really started engaging with the medium when he began working in his characteristic Pop Art style in the mid-1960s. Against the background of the cultural revolution of the late 1950s and early 1960s, these artists reflected on the world around them and found inspiration in the everyday, in consumer goods, and the burgeoning mass media. The latter, in particular, led to experiments with commercial printing methods such as silk-screening. Art was to be brought out of the confines of elite institutions and made easily available. Questions were raised about the attributes of an artwork: originality, uniqueness, and authenticity were contested.