Login

Du hast noch keinen Account? Registriere dich.
Hast du dein Passwort vergessen

Account erstellen

Durch die Registrierung, akzeptierst du unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Melde dich an wenn du schon einen Account besitzt.

Passwort zurücksetzen

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

VERGRIFFEN Doug Aitken

Doug Aitken Cover

Mit raumfüllenden Filminstallationen und korrelierenden Skulpturen sowie einer ortsspezifischen Soundinstallation wird die umfangreiche Ausstellung in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt/Main das vielfältige Werk des international bekannten Künstlers Doug Aitken in einem breiten Überblick vorstellen.

39,00 €

  • Herausgeber

    Max Hollein, Matthias Ulrich

  • Vorwort

    Max Hollein

  • Text

    Matthias Joseph Akel, Dominic Eichler, Joerg Heiser, Martin Herbert, April Lamm, Katya Tylevich

  • Sprache

    Deutsch/Englisch

  • Details

    Hardcover, 33 x 25 cm, 200 Seiten, Abb. in Farbe

  • ISBN

    978-3-903004-18-4

Über dieses Produkt

Zivilisation macht Hoffnung – Zivilisation macht Angst. Diese Gefühle sind in den einzigartigen Kunstwerken des US-Amerikaners Doug Aitken spürbar. Seine spektakulären Film- und Soundarbeiten nehmen die Betrachter mit auf eine synästhetische Reise um die Welt und zu sich selbst – in einem unwiderstehlichen Sog aus ausdrucksstarken Bildern und rhythmisierten Landschaften. Mit raumfüllenden Filminstallationen und korrelierenden Skulpturen sowie einer ortsspezifischen Soundinstallation wird die umfangreiche Ausstellung in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt/Main das vielfältige Werk des international bekannten Künstlers in einem breiten Überblick vorstellen.

Aitkens kaleidoskopisches Universum dreht sich um die existenziellen Fragen des Lebens, liefert jedoch keine einfachen Antworten. Stattdessen bringt der Künstler eine fast naive Faszination für das Menschsein und ein gemeinschaftliches Wesen und Zusammenwirken zum Ausdruck. Folgerichtig haben die jüngsten Projekte des in Los Angeles beheimateten Künstlers die Form des Ausstellens neu formuliert und weltweite Aufmerksamkeit erlangt, etwa durch die Illuminierung der Außenfassaden von Museen, wie auf der National Mall in Washington D.C., oder durch ein aufwendig inszeniertes Happening verschiedener Künstler auf einer mehrwöchigen „Station to Station“-Zugreise von New York nach San Francisco.

Login

Don't have an account? Sign up.
Lost your password

Create Account

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Conditions.

Login if you already have an account.

Reset Password

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

OUT OF STOCK Doug Aitken

Doug Aitken Cover

With four expansive film installations and correlating sculptures as well as a site-specific sound installation, the exhibition will present an overview of the internationally renowned artist’s heterogeneous oeuvre throughout the entire exhibition area of the SCHIRN – and beyond.

€39.00

  • Editor

    Max Hollein, Matthias Ulrich

  • Preface

    Max Hollein

  • Text

    Matthias Joseph Akel, Dominic Eichler, Joerg Heiser, Martin Herbert, April Lamm, Katya Tylevich

  • Language

    German/English

  • Details

    Hardcover, 33 x 25 cm, 200 pages, ills. in color

  • ISBN

    978-3-903004-18-4

About the product

Civilization raises hopes – civilization is terrifying. These feelings are palpable in the inimitable works of art by the American artist Doug Aitken. His spectacular film and sound works take visitors on a synaesthetic journey around the world and into themselves – in an irresistible maelstrom of expressive images and rhythmic landscapes. With four expansive film installations and correlating sculptures as well as a site-specific sound installation, the exhibition will present an overview of the internationally renowned artist’s heterogeneous oeuvre throughout the entire exhibition area of the SCHIRN – and beyond.

Aitken’s kaleidoscopic universe revolves around life’s existential questions, yet it does not supply any simple answers. Instead, the artist lends expression to an almost naïve fascination with being human and people’s sense of collectivity and cooperation. Consequently, the recent projects by the Los Angeles-based artist have redefined the exhibition format and gained him worldwide attention, for instance through the illumination of the exterior walls of museums, like at the National Mall in Washington, D.C., or through an elaborately staged happening with the participation of various artists on the Station to Station train journey from New York to San Francisco lasting several weeks.