Login

Du hast noch keinen Account? Registriere dich.
Hast du dein Passwort vergessen

Account erstellen

Durch die Registrierung, akzeptierst du unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Melde dich an wenn du schon einen Account besitzt.

Passwort zurücksetzen

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Louis Michel Eilshemius und sein Einfluss auf Marcel Duchamp
Stefan Banz

Louis Michel Eilshemius Cover

In dieser Publikaton macht Stefan Banz erstaunliche Entdeckungen, die nicht nur unter­strei­chen, wie großartig, aber unterschätzt Eilshemius war, sondern auch wie nachhaltig sich Marcel Duchamp von diesem unbekannten Künstler bei so berühmten Werken wie „Élevage de poussière“ oder „Étant donnés“ inspirieren ließ.

35,00 €

  • Herausgeber

    Edition KMD

  • Vorwort

    Ugo Rondinone

  • Text

    Stefan Banz

  • Sprache

    Deutsch

  • Details

    Hardcover, 22 x 16 cm, 288 Seiten, 161 Abbildungen

  • ISBN

    978-3-903131-12-5

Über dieses Produkt

Marcel Duchamp war 1917 in der ersten Ausstellung der ­Society of Independent Artists im Grand Central Palace in New York so fasziniert von Louis Michel Eilshemius’ Gemälden, dass er nicht nur all seinen Freunden von seiner Entdeckung erzählte, sondern später zusammen mit Katherine S. Dreier auch die beiden ersten Einzelausstellungen des Künstlers in einer öffentlichen Institution — der inzwischen legendären Société Anonyme — organisierte.

Stefan Banz geht in seiner umfassend recherchierten und span­nend geschriebenen Studie zum ersten Mal der Frage nach, warum Duchamp sich so leidenschaftlich für diesen exzentrischen Außenseiter der New Yorker Kunstszene interessierte und inwiefern diese Begeisterung auch seine eigene künstlerische Arbeit beeinflusste.

Dabei macht Banz erstaunliche Entdeckungen, die nicht nur unter­strei­chen, wie großartig, aber unterschätzt Eilshemius war, sondern auch wie nachhaltig sich Duchamp von diesem unbekannten Künstler bei so berühmten Werken wie „Élevage de poussière“ oder „Étant donnés“ inspirieren ließ.

Die 2015 erschienene englische Ausgabe (ergänzt um bis­­her unbekannte Leserbriefe und Dokumente von und über Louis Michel Eilshemius) war in den USA ein großes Ereignis und erhielt den Rollins Book Award 2016.

Login

Don't have an account? Sign up.
Lost your password

Create Account

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Conditions.

Login if you already have an account.

Reset Password

Louis Michel Eilshemius und sein Einfluss auf Marcel Duchamp
Stefan Banz

Louis Michel Eilshemius Cover

Stefan Banz's researches uncover astonishing facts that not only underscore how great and underestimated Louis Michel Eilshemius was but also how strongly Marcel Duchamp had been influenced by this relatively unknown artist when creating such famous works as his Élevage de poussière or Étant donnés. 

€35.00

  • Editor

    Edition KMD

  • Preface

    Ugo Rondinone

  • Text

    Stefan Banz

  • Language

    German

  • Details

    Hardcover, 22 x 16,5 cm, 288 pages, 161 ills.

  • ISBN

    978-3-903131-12-5

About the product

In 1917, at the first exhibition of the Society of Independent Artists at the Grand Central Palace in New York, Marcel Duchamp was so fascinated by the paintings of Louis Michel Eilshemius that he not only told all his friends about his discovery but also organized, some time later and together with Katherine S. Dreier, Eilshemius's first two solo exhibitions in a public institution—the meanwhile legendary Société Anonyme.  

In his comprehensively researched and excitingly written study, Stefan Banz examines the question—and is the first author ever to have done so—as to why Duchamp was so passionately interested in this eccentric outsider of the New York art scene and as to whether and to what extent this enthusiasm also had an influence on his own work as an artist.

Stefan Banz's researches uncover astonishing facts that not only underscore how great and underestimated Eilshemius was but also how strongly Duchamp had been influenced by this relatively unknown artist when creating such famous works as his Élevage de poussière or Étant donnés.  

The English edition published in 2015 (complemented by hitherto unknown readers' letters and documents by and about Louis Michel Eilshemius) was a great success in the USA and received the 2016 Rollins Book Award, and the 2016 Eric Hoffer Book Award (as an

Honorable Mention in the Category “Art”).