Login

Du hast noch keinen Account? Registriere dich.
Hast du dein Passwort vergessen

Account erstellen

Durch die Registrierung, akzeptierst du unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Melde dich an wenn du schon einen Account besitzt.

Passwort zurücksetzen

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Matthias Wollgast
Making-Of

Wollgast Cover

Die zweite Premiere war vielleicht wichtiger als die erste: 2054 zeigte das Filmmuseum Wien „The Steps with no Name“ erneut. 34 Jahre waren inzwischen vergangen und unglaubliche Zufälle wie Schicksale hatten dem 2020 abgedrehten Film ein mysteriöses Nachleben beschert; mindestens so außergewöhnlich der Film-Noir selbst. 

24,00 €

  • HERAUSGEBER

    Matthias Wollgast

  • TEXTE

    Julia Grillmayr, Kevin Lutz, Grischka Petri, Sarah Sander, Michael Stockhausen, Matthias Wollgast

  • DESIGN

    Edi Winarni

  • DETAILS

    Deutsch/Englisch

  • SPRACHE

    Paperback, 236 Seite, 28 x 21 cm, 460 Ills. in Farbe und s/w

  • ISBN

    978-3-903796-79-9

Über dieses Produkt

Gleißend helle Arktis, der an Sonnenallergie erkrankte Polarforscher Ray Mondt. Widerwillig zieht er sich ins Dunkle eines Londoner Kellerlochs zurück. Der beobachtete Mord und die aufkeimende Liebe zu den Überwachungskamerabildern einer Frau vollenden sein Schicksal: Ray Mondt entschließt sich zur Eigenstrahlentherapie in der selbstentwickelten „Beambox“ und die lichte Selbstauflösung beginnt. 

Nach der Filmpremiere 2020 schlug Fiktion in Realität um: Alan Smithee, der Regisseur des Kult gewordenen Streifens, verstarb kurz nach den ersten Festivalerfolgen, der Drehbuchautor Matthias Wollgast verschwand unauffindbar und Nachbauer_innen der sogenannten „Beambox“ verschluckte der Erdboden.

Nun endlich erscheint das Buch zu dem vielleicht rätselhaftesten film d’art des 21. Jahrhunderts. Der Geist der Erzählung trug exklusive Setfotos, Presse- wie Nachberichte, neue Zeitzeugeninterviews und erstaunliche Hintergründe zu dem ersten Anthropozän-Thriller der Filmgeschichte zusammen. Der Dreh, die Nachleben, die Auffindung und Restaurierung der „Steps with no Name“ wird Sie verstricken, ein Muss für alle Cineast_innen und Narratolog_innen.

Login

Don't have an account? Sign up.
Lost your password

Create Account

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Conditions.

Login if you already have an account.

Reset Password

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Matthias Wollgast
Making-Of

Wollgast Cover

The second premiere was perhaps more significant than the first: the Vienna Film Museum showed “The Steps with no Name” again in 2054. Thirty-four years had passed in the meantime and a series of unbelievable coincidences and twists of fate had given the film, which was shot in 2020, a mysterious afterlife—one that was at least as freakish as the film noir itself.

€24.00

  • EDITOR

    Matthias Wollgast

  • TEXTS

    Julia Grillmayr, Kevin Lutz, Grischka Petri, Sarah Sander, Michael Stockhausen, Matthias Wollgast

  • DESIGN

    Edi Winarni

  • LANGUAGE

    English/German

  • DETAILS

    Paperback, 236 pages, 28 x 21 cm, 460 ills. in color and b/w

  • ISBN

    978-3-903796-79-9

About the product

A dazzlingly bright Arctic, where polar explorer Ray Mondt has fallen ill with an allergy to the sun. Reluctantly, he retreats into the darkness of a London cellar. His fate is sealed by a murder he observes and his burgeoning love for the image of a woman captured by a surveillance camera: Mondt decides to undergo his own brand of therapy in the “Beambox”, a radiation chamber he has designed himself, and the process of self-dissolution begins.

After the film premiered in 2020, fiction turned into reality: Alan Smithee, the director of the film, which had become a cult flick, died shortly after its first festival successes, while screenwriter Matthias Wollgast disappeared and fans who recreated the “beambox” vanished without trace.

Now, at long last, the book on what is perhaps the most enigmatic film d’art of the 21st century is being published. The story’s presiding genius has brought together exclusive set photos, press and follow-up reports, new eyewitness interviews, and astonishing background information on the first Anthropocene thriller in film history. The shoot, the afterlife, the discovery and restoration of the “Steps with no Name” will wrap you in their web—a must for all cineastes and narratologists.