Login

Du hast noch keinen Account? Registriere dich.
Hast du dein Passwort vergessen

Account erstellen

Durch die Registrierung, akzeptierst du unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Melde dich an wenn du schon einen Account besitzt.

Passwort zurücksetzen

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Navigating the Planetary
A guide to the planetary art world—its past, present, and potentials

Navigating Cover

Dieser Band versteht sich als Führer durch den weltweiten Kunstbetrieb und die damit verbundenen Diskurse. Er bietet denjenigen, die gerade beginnen sich zurechtzufinden ebenso Grundlagen, Anregungen und Erkenntnisse, wie denjenigen die schon seit Längerem im planetaren Kunstgeschehen unterwegs sind.

28,00 €

  • Herausgeber

    Hildegund Amanshauser, Kimberly Bradley für die Internationale Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst Salzburg

  • TEXTE

    Rahel Aima, Hildegund Amanshauser, Kader Attia, Stephanie Bailey, Sammy Baloji, Kimberly Bradley, Sabine Breitwieser, Tania Bruguera, Roger M. Buergel, Clémentine Deliss, Rosalyn D’Mello, Charles Esche, Olamiju Fajemisin, Marina Fokidis, Alexander Koch, Christian Kravagna, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Peter Osborne, Fernando Resende, Mohammad Salemy, Shuddhabrata Sengupta with the Raqs Media Collective, Nina Siegal, Chloe Stead, Sanjukta Sunderason, Kate Sutton, Simone Wille

  • DESIGN

    CH Studio, Christian Hoffelner

  • DETAILS

    Englisch, Paperback, ca. 400 Seiten, 19,5 x 12,5 cm, 100 Abb. in Farbe und s/w

  • ISBN

    978-3-903320-67-3

Über dieses Produkt

„Navigating the Planetary“: Der Titel dieses in englischer Sprache erscheinenden Buches verweist auf eine weltweit vernetzte Kunstszene, die nicht nur die alten eurozentrischen Modelle und Denkmuster der Kunst ad absurdum führt, sondern auch die „Globalisierung“ mit einem holistischen Ansatz konterkariert. Das Navigieren des globalisierten Kunstbetriebs ist und bleibt für viele Kunstschaffende, Kurator_innen, Kritiker_innen und andere Kulturarbeiter_innen eine große Herausforderung.

Dieser Band versteht sich als Führer durch den weltweiten Kunstbetrieb und die damit verbundenen Diskurse. Er bietet denjenigen, die gerade beginnen sich zurechtzufinden ebenso Grundlagen, Anregungen und Erkenntnisse, wie denjenigen die schon seit Längerem im planetaren Kunstgeschehen unterwegs sind. Essays, Fallstudien und Interviews widmen sich Menschen, Institutionen und Diskursen und stellen diese in der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart dar und werfen darüber hinaus einen Blick in die Zukunft.  Binäre Denkmuster von Ost/West Globalem Süden und Norden verschieben sich oder lösen dabei sich auf. Das Buch fragt auch: Warum überhaupt permanent weltweit unterwegs sein, warum versuchen, sich auf dem ganzen (Kunst)Planeten zurecht zu finden? Ist der Wunsch, dies zu tun Teil einer politischen Agenda? Bieten globale Netzwerke Lösungen für kulturelle Probleme und Fragestellungen und wie baut man diese Netzwerke auf und pflegt sie? Welche Rolle kann oder sollte Bildung und Kunstausbildung im Rahmen der Entstehung eines planetaren oder globalen Bewusstseins spielen? „Navigating the Planetary“ wirft diese Fragen auf, versucht sie zu beantworten und will den Möglichkeitssinn stärken.

Login

Don't have an account? Sign up.
Lost your password

Create Account

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Conditions.

Login if you already have an account.

Reset Password

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Navigating the Planetary
A guide to the planetary art world—its past, present, and potentials

Navigating Cover

This volume is a guidebook for readers looking for entry points into planetary approaches to contemporary art. It is for researchers already in the field, but also for those who don’t know where to begin.

€28.00

  • EDITORS

    Hildegund Amanshauser, Kimberly Bradley for Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts

  • TEXTS

    Rahel Aima, Hildegund Amanshauser, Kader Attia, Stephanie Bailey, Sammy Baloji, Kimberly Bradley, Sabine Breitwieser, Tania Bruguera, Roger M. Buergel, Clémentine Deliss, Rosalyn D’Mello, Charles Esche, Olamiju Fajemisin, Marina Fokidis, Alexander Koch, Christian Kravagna, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Peter Osborne, Fernando Resende, Mohammad Salemy, Shuddhabrata Sengupta with the Raqs Media Collective, Nina Siegal, Chloe Stead, Sanjukta Sunderason, Kate Sutton, Simone Wille

  • DESIGN

    CH Studio, Christian Hoffelner

  • DETAILS

    English, Paperback, approx. 400 pages, 19.5 x 12.5 cm, 100 ills. in color and b/w

  • ISBN

    978-3-903320-67-3

About the product

“Navigating the Planetary”: the title of this book points to an interconnected art world that transcends not only art's old Eurocentric models, but also the “global,” with a more holistic approach. The “planetary" has become a buzzword, yet navigating it remains a major challenge for many artists, curators, critics, and other art practitioners.

This volume is a guidebook for readers looking for entry points into planetary approaches to contemporary art. It is for researchers already in the field, but also for those who don’t know where to begin. Through essays, case studies, and interviews situated in the past, present, and looking to the future, this book explores people, institutions, and thoughts that are shifting or dissolving East/West and Global North/South binaries. This book also asks: why navigate the planetary at all—and is the desire to do so part of a political agenda? Do global or planetary networks offer solutions to cultural problems, and how are these networks best established and maintained? And how can or should education support a planetary or global consciousness or approach to art? “Navigating the Planetary” attempts to answer these questions, as well as offer a sense of possibility.