Login

Du hast noch keinen Account? Registriere dich.
Hast du dein Passwort vergessen

Account erstellen

Durch die Registrierung, akzeptierst du unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Melde dich an wenn du schon einen Account besitzt.

Passwort zurücksetzen

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Priesch, 1000-jährige Bibliothek / The Thousand-Year Library Die Sprache prüfen / Checking Language Wörks, # 6

Bildschirmfoto 2021 03 29 Um 15 30 23

Mit einer Gesamtauflage von 12,4 Millionen ist Hitlers „Mein Kampf“ bis heute das meistverkaufte Autor_innenbuch deutscher Sprache. Tabuisierung und Verbot dieser Propagandaschrift nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg haben nicht den erwünschten Effekt gezeigt, nämlich den „Geist in der Flasche“ sicher zu verwahren und von der Allgemeinheit fernzuhalten. Das Gegenteil ist der Fall, neonationalistische Ausgrenzungsbewegungen, Rassismus und menschenhassende Rhetorik gewinnen an Massentauglichkeit.

25,00 €

  • HERAUSGEBER

    Hannes Priesch, Katia Huemer, Karin Buol-Wischenau

  • TEXTE

    Ando Arike, Rainer Fuchs, Katharina Kocher-Lichem, David Kranzelbinder, Mariella Widauer

  • INTERVIEW WITH

    Katia Huemer with Hannes Priesch

  • DESIGN

    Karin Buol-Wischenau

  • SPRACHE

    Deutsch/Englisch

  • DETAILS

    Hardcover, 240 Seite, 25.2 x 19.7 cm, 100 Ills. in Farbe

  • ISBN

    978-3-903796-76-8

Über dieses Produkt

Mit „1000-jährige Bibliothek“, realisiert im „Gedenkjahr 2018“, lud der Künstler Hannes Priesch ein, das Fundament dieser beobachtbaren Entwicklungen zu ergründen. Er vervielfältigte Textauszüge aus “Mein Kampf” mittels Handsiebdruck und stellte daraus Buchobjekte her, die den Besucher_innen das Lesen der verpönten Schrift ermöglichten. 

Auch im vorliegenden Buch, in dem sämtliche Siebdruckseiten lesbar abgebildet sind, wird der tabuisierte Gegenstand „Mein Kampf“ in neuer Weise Material zur Untersuchung und Reflexion. Begleitet von Texten, die das Thema der Sprache mit totalitären Tendenzen von unterschiedlichen Seiten beleuchten, erleichtert uns die semiotische Referenzveränderung, die von Hitler verwendete Sprache zu studieren und politische Strategien der Vergangenheit in jenen der Gegenwart zu erkennen.

Login

Don't have an account? Sign up.
Lost your password

Create Account

By signing up, you agree to our Terms & Conditions.

Login if you already have an account.

Reset Password

Due to a temporary technical disruption, you can reset your password by contacting hello@vfmk.org.

Priesch, 1000-jährige Bibliothek / The Thousand-Year Library Die Sprache prüfen / Checking Language Wörks, # 6

Bildschirmfoto 2021 03 29 Um 15 30 23

With a total of 12.4 million copies printed, Hitler’s “Mein Kampf” remains the bestselling German-language book by a single author to this day. Tabooing and banning this propaganda book after the Second World War have not achieved the desired effect—which was to safely store the “spirit in the bottle” and keep it from the general public. The opposite has occurred: neo-nationalist exclusionary tactics, racism, and misanthropic rhetoric are wriggling closer and closer to the mainstream.

€25.00

  • EDITOR

    Hannes Priesch, Katia Huemer, Karin Buol-Wischenau

  • TEXTS

    Ando Arike, Rainer Fuchs, Katharina Kocher-Lichem, David Kranzelbinder, Mariella Widauer

  • CONVERSATION

    Katia Huemer with Hannes Priesch

  • DESIGN

    Karin Buol-Wischenau

  • LANGUAGE

    German/English

  • DETAILS

    Hardcover, Hardcover, 240 pages, 25.2 x 19.7 cm, 100 ills. in color

  • ISBN

    978-3-903796-76-8

About the product

With “The Thousand-Year Library”, realized in the “Year of Remembrance 2018,” artist Hannes Priesch invited us to explore the foundation of these observable developments. He duplicated excerpts from “Mein Kampf” using a silkscreen-printing technique and produced book objects that enabled visitors to read this vile text.

This publication, which reproduces the entire series of silkscreen prints, shines new light on the taboo subject of “Mein Kampf”, framing it as material for further investigation and reflection. Accompanied by texts that approach the subject of language featuring totalitarian tendencies from different sides, this semiotic shift in references helps us to study the language Hitler employed and to recognize political strategies of the past in current events.